close search ×
driving without insurance

Is Driving Without Insurance A Crime in New York?

logo icon

If you want to drive on the roads of New York, you need to have insurance. An insurance policy pays out when you get into a car accident and hurt someone else or cause property damage. You cannot just decide to forego this protection. Driving around without insurance is a crime. You can be arrested and punished. If you have been accused of driving around without insurance, then you must address the charge and defend yourself. A Queens traffic ticket lawyer from our firm may be able to help you.

How Much Insurance Does New York Require?

The state of New York makes its insurance requirements quite clear. Drivers must carry a policy that includes:

  • $25,000 bodily liability maximum for one person injured in an accident
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability maximum per incident
  • $10,000 property damage liability maximum for one accident

This means that if you get into an accident and someone else gets hurt, your policy can help them pay for their expenses. There are also other types of coverage that can protect your property, like comprehensive and collision, that are not required by state law.

Can I Go To Jail For Being Without Insurance?

In most cases, when someone is caught driving without insurance they are going to be punished with fines and various other fees. Their driving privileges can be affected as well, and it will usually cost money to get them reinstated. The vehicle can also be impounded, so that’s another expense.

So if you thought that a car insurance policy was pricey, you should realize by now that driving without one can also be quite expensive. As for jail time, that is a rare punishment if you are just pulled over for another violation and the cop realizes that you are driving without insurance. However, if you get into an accident while driving without a policy you could end up spending up to 15 days in jail.

Can I Lose My License For Driving Without Insurance?

As we mentioned, the court can suspend your license if you drive without insuring your vehicle. You could lose your driving privileges for up to three years. If you get involved in a car crash, you are certain to lose your license and vehicle registration for a year or more.

It’s also important to note that you can be held liable if you let someone else drive a car when you do not have an active insurance policy. Both you and the driver could face punishments like fines and the loss of your licenses.

Contact Our Law Firm

If you have been accused of driving without insurance, you should talk to a lawyer. Instead of dealing with the myriad inconveniences that can come along with this accusation, contact Vasiliou Law and schedule a consultation with our team. We are ready to help you with your case.

Website Designed & Managed by